Activist Alert

View the upcoming events in the DC metro area and search by category or location. Also see the announcements at the bottom.
Race - from Hurt to Healing Wed, 03/12/2014 - 7:00pm - Wed, 05/07/2014 - 9:00pm
Emancipation Day DC Sun, 04/13/2014 - 6:00pm - Wed, 04/16/2014 - 8:30pm
Low-Level Crime, Maximum Time: The Impact of Harsh Sentencing on Communities of Color Wed, 04/16/2014 - 11:45am
Cuba and the US: What's Next Wed, 04/16/2014 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Film: "Thick" Wed, 04/16/2014 - 7:00pm
GWU Feminist Union: Street Harassment Panel Wed, 04/16/2014 - 7:00pm
Green GW Food Desert Panel Wed, 04/16/2014 - 8:00pm
Morning Lecture: "Washington and the Peace Process: Assessing America's Role, Past and Present" with Rashid Khalidi Thu, 04/17/2014 - 9:30am - 11:00am
Panel Discussion: Black Farmers Discrimination Litigation Thu, 04/17/2014 - 12:15pm - 2:00pm
"'Bound As Fast In Wedlock As A Slave Can Be': African-American Marriage, Slavery, and Freedom” Thu, 04/17/2014 - 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Celebrating a Decade of DC's Language Access Act Thu, 04/17/2014 - 6:00pm - 8:30pm
FY2015 Budget Town Hall Meeting Thu, 04/17/2014 - 6:30pm
Presentation on InterFaith Tour Program Thu, 04/17/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:30pm
After Cannabis Prohibition: Investigating What Comes Next for the Economy, Public Safety, and America's Families Thu, 04/17/2014 - 6:30pm
Do you really know Teach for America? A Teach-In on Education Privatization Thu, 04/17/2014 - 7:00pm - 8:30pm
The DC Sustainability and Social Enterprise Summit Fri, 04/18/2014 - 9:15am - 4:00pm
DC Muslim Youth Leadership Symposium Sat, 04/19/2014 - 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Film: Inequality for All Mon, 04/21/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Books Behind Bars: a Discussion on the Need for Library Services at the DC Jail Mon, 04/21/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:30pm
FY2015 Budget Town Hall Meeting Mon, 04/21/2014 - 6:30pm
The Student Movement to Solve the Global Climate Crisis! Mon, 04/21/2014 - 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Understanding Trauma: How Do We Build Resilience? Tue, 04/22/2014 - 9:00am - Wed, 04/23/2014 - 5:00pm
Reject and Protect Tue, 04/22/2014 - 11:00am - Sun, 04/27/2014 - 7:00pm
Hip Hop Caucus: Act on Climate Tour Tue, 04/22/2014 - 6:30pm
Civic Leadership for Government Accountability Event, Day 1 Tue, 04/22/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Beyond Orwell: Surveillance, Secrets, & Whistleblowing in the Security State Tue, 04/22/2014 - 7:00pm
Accountability for Drone Strikes Wed, 04/23/2014 - 2:30pm - 5:15pm
Advancement Project's 15-Year Anniversary Celebration Wed, 04/23/2014 - 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Making a Difference - Faith Communities Speak to the Humanitarian Impact of Nuclear Weapons Thu, 04/24/2014 - 9:30am - 4:00pm
Disability Rights in the 21st Century: Creative Solutions for Achieving the Right to Live in the World Thu, 04/24/2014 - 3:45pm - Fri, 04/25/2014 - 3:45pm
FY2015 Budget Town Hall Meeting Thu, 04/24/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:30pm
More than a Name: The Fight for American Indian Rights Thu, 04/24/2014 - 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Taking on the Student Debt Crisis: A Discussion Moderated by Van Jones and Solo-Performance by Aaron Calafato Thu, 04/24/2014 - 8:00pm - 10:00pm
29th Annual Peace, Justice, & Environment Conference Fri, 04/25/2014 - 9:00am - Sat, 04/26/2014 - 9:00am
Rally for a Debt Free Future! Fri, 04/25/2014 - 11:00am
POWER LUNCH Fri, 04/25/2014 - 11:00am - 3:00pm
Let Ivy City Breathe Fri, 04/25/2014 - 11:00am
"Right to Peace" Walk Sat, 04/26/2014 - 10:30am - Fri, 05/09/2014 - 10:30am
Reject and Protect Sat, 04/26/2014 - 11:00am
FY2015 Budget Town Hall Meeting Sat, 04/26/2014 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Fifth Annual National Abortion Access Bowl-a-Thon! Sun, 04/27/2014 - 8:00pm
Local and National Dialogues: What Makes Them Work? Mon, 04/28/2014 - 9:00am - Fri, 05/02/2014 - 5:00pm
The Battle for the Capitol: Kick Corporate Cash out of Congress! Mon, 04/28/2014 - 11:00am
The Political Campaign of Andy Shallal: A Look Back and the Look Ahead Apr 28 1-4pm Mon, 04/28/2014 - 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Film: "High Tech, Low Life" Mon, 04/28/2014 - 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Women’s Rights in the Apparel Industry: Ending Violence, Empowering Voices Tue, 04/29/2014 - 9:30am - 4:00pm
Baltimore & Maryland Workers Assembly "We Deserve Better" Tue, 04/29/2014 - 5:00pm - 7:00pm
2014 International Labor Rights Defenders Awards Tue, 04/29/2014 - 6:00pm - 10:00pm
FY2015 Budget Town Hall Meeting Tue, 04/29/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:30pm
SAVE & REPAIR PUBLIC HOUSING: Rally & Hearing! Wed, 04/30/2014 - 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Venezuelan Constitutional Expert Hermann Escarra Speaks Wed, 04/30/2014 - 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Color Me Community Conversations Thu, 05/01/2014 - 6:00pm - 8:30pm
FY2015 Budget Town Hall Meeting Thu, 05/01/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Demonstration against Drones Sat, 05/03/2014 (All day)
Spring Walk for Palestine Sat, 05/03/2014 - 9:00am - 11:30am
National Campaign for Nonviolent Resistance Spring Day of Action Against the Killer Drones Sat, 05/03/2014 - 12:00pm
7th Annual Tenant Town Hall! Sat, 05/03/2014 - 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Film: "La Source" Mon, 05/05/2014 - 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Hisham B. Sharabi Memorial Lecture with Ambassador Clovis Maksoud Tue, 05/06/2014 - 12:30pm - 2:00pm
FY2015 Budget Town Hall Meeting Tue, 05/06/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Irreplaceable Film Screening Tue, 05/06/2014 - 7:30pm
Theater of the Oppressed: May Skillshare Wed, 05/07/2014 - 7:00pm
FY2015 Budget Town Hall Meeting Thu, 05/08/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Grassroots DC Fundraiser Thu, 05/08/2014 - 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Mediating Violent Conflict Mon, 05/12/2014 - 9:00am - Fri, 05/16/2014 - 5:00pm
Film: Psychology and the New Heroism Mon, 05/12/2014 - 7:00pm - 9:00pm
A Musical Journey Through Palestinian History Music and Commentary by Fuad Foty Thu, 05/15/2014 - 7:00pm - 9:00pm
3rd Annual Gaza Solidarity 5K Walk/Run Sat, 05/17/2014 - 8:00am
Governance and Democratic Practices in War-to-Peace Transitions Mon, 05/19/2014 - 9:00am - Fri, 05/23/2014 - 5:00pm
Winning Together: Multiparty Negotiations Mon, 05/19/2014 - 9:00am - Tue, 05/20/2014 - 5:00pm
"A History of Money in Palestine: The Case of the Frozen Bank Accounts of 1948" with Sreemati Mitter Tue, 05/20/2014 - 12:30pm - 2:00pm
014 Solidarity Cyclers Victory Ride Sat, 05/24/2014 - 9:00am - Sun, 05/25/2014 - 6:00pm
Hisham Sharabi: Addicted to Precision Wed, 05/28/2014 - 12:30pm - 2:00pm
Author Event: Missing Class Wed, 05/28/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Author Event: Missing Class Wed, 05/28/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
People's Institute Workshops Thu, 05/29/2014 - 8:30am - 5:00pm
"Genesis: Truman, American Jews, and the Origins of the Arab/Israeli Conflict" with John Judis Thu, 06/05/2014 - 12:30pm - 2:00pm
Chavez Schools' 2014 Public Policy Symposium Fri, 06/06/2014 - 9:00am
The American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee (ADC) 34th National Convention Thu, 06/12/2014 (All day) - Sun, 06/15/2014 (All day)
DC Jobs with Justice Thu, 06/12/2014 - 6:00pm
People's Institute Workshops Fri, 06/20/2014 - 7:00pm - Sun, 06/22/2014 - 7:00pm